Who Was Named a Triple Crown™ Winner by a Nose?

Posted by Jazzy Morgan on Jan 23, 2018, 3:04:23 PM

Happy Triple Crown™ Tuesday!

Winning the Triple Crown™ is a prestigious honor. Comprised of three races; Preakness Stakes, the Kentucky Derby® and Belmont Stakes, becoming a Triple Crown™ winner is the greatest honor that any horse racing team strives to achieve throughout their racing career. Only 12 horses in history have won the Triple Crown™, proving just how hard it is to complete the trifecta.

Belmont Experiences is breaking down each of the 12 Triple Crown™ winners for you in a 12-part series occurring every Tuesday. This week’s Triple Crown™ winner is one who wore it well in 1978!

Explore the 2018 Belmont Stakes Official Ticket Packages

Blog Post-Affirmed.png

Affirmed, 1978

Winning the Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes was enough to make him Horse of the Year in 1978 but this wasn’t the end of Affirmed. This Triple Crown™ winner was the only one to go on to accomplish so much more after completing the trifecta.

Affirmed did not go in to the Kentucky Derby® as the favored horse, in fact at the beginning of the race he trailed in third place. On the final turn, Affirmed pushed to the lead, held off his arch-rival, Alydar and won by 1 ½ lengths. With a change of pace at Preakness Stakes, Affirmed held a steady but short lead throughout the race and pulled the same move he did at the Kentucky Derby®, beating Alydar again, by a neck.

During Belmont Stakes, Alydar’s trainer removed his blinkers in hopes that if he could see Affirmed he would get by him during the race. Setting a very slow pace, Affirmed took the lead, taking 25 seconds to finish the first quarter mile with Alydar sticking close to his side. The colts raced neck and neck in the final stretch as Alydar got his nose in front at mid-stretch. Just when it seemed as though Alydar was in the position to win, Affirmed stuck out his neck and won by a nose.

Affirmed went on to be a Triple Crown™ winner, the last winner for the next 37 years until 2015! His Triple Crown™ win set two records, the shortest gap between him and the previous Triple Crown™ winner and the longest gap between him and the next Triple Crown™ winner.

Attend the 150th Anniversary of the Belmont Stakes in 2018

Belmont Experiences offers a variety of Official Ticket Package options that come complete with access to The Diamond Room at the North Shore Terrace and clubhouse seating for the race weekend. Indulge in gourmet food, a premium open bar, private wagering stations, and so much more for a true VIP experience! For more information, fill out a form or click below!

Explore Belmont Stakes 2018 Packages

Topics: 2018 Belmont Stakes

Subscribe to Our Blog

About the Bloggers

Kristen Doolan

Kristen Doolan was born and raised a Florida State Seminole. Making her way from Florida to North Carolina, Kristen achieved her B.S. in Business Adminstration, Marketing at The University of North Carolina Wilmington. She is an avid traveler, college football addict, beach bum and loves spending time with her family and friends. 

Jazzy Morgan

Jazzy Morgan is originally from London, England and a die-hard Manchester United Fan. She grew up in Connecticut and made the move down south in 2011 where she attended Winthrop University and received her B.S. in Family & Consumer Sciences and a minor in Marketing. Jazzy enjoys traveling, working out, reading her monthly Vogue & Cosmo and keeping up with fashion trends.